Friday, January 26, 2018

Anahata - The heart chakra

Anahata chakra:
Within the Vedas, there are a variety of names and references to the kundalini such as Kundal or Shaya.
The most important Vedic deity associated with the kundalini is Agni and Surya. Agni is the Kundalini energy and Surya is the kundalini in its triumph or full awakening. Surya is the kundalini having moved to the crown chakra and is the source of all Shakti. Shakti is referenced as the sun hidden and revealed in the Vedic journey.

The heart and crown chakra is connected via the Chitta Nadi (channel, stream, flow). This Nadi connects the crown chakra (associated with the sun) with the heart (Anahata) chakra. Several yoga texts are references to the kundalini/Surya connection. Within the Hatha Yoga Pradipika, the kundalini is described as having the brilliance of a thousand suns. From a yogic perspective the teachings of the sacred Mount Meru, within Hinduism, represent the physical spinal column. In a variety of ancient texts, Mount Meru is given a specific height and located within an ocean, surrounded by seven islands. The seven islands reference the seven primary chakras; Meru is the spinal column or the Sushumna of the astral body. Within the Shiva Samhita (Sanskrit text on yoga), the sun is referred to as being at the bottom of Meru and it is a reference to the kundalini.
Anahata or heart chakra is the fourth primary chakra, according to Hindu Yogic, Shakta, and Buddhist Tantric traditions. In Sanskrit Anahata means “unhurt, un-struck, and unbeaten”. Anahata Nad refers to the Vedic concept of un-struck sound (the sound of the celestial realm). Anahata is associated with balance, calmness, and serenity. The god of Anahata is Lord Aadi Shakti.
Anahata is accessible through the breath and is therefore related to the element of air. The Hindus call the breath Prana (life force) which is the essence of all nourishment and vitality. By consciously using the breath we unloose whatever tensions are blocking us; it also opens the heart chakra.

Symptoms when our heart chakra is closed down: Breathing is shallow, slow metabolism and physical energy, divided between mind and body, withdrawn, not a part of life. People that have a chakra that is too open have a tendency to give all of their time and energy away leaving them feeling drained, and they are too focused on others so that they won’t have to look at themselves.
A person with a healthy heart chakra is balanced, radiates love, self-acceptance, cares for and has compassion towards others.

The Hexagram or six-pointed star
The hexagram is symbolic for the heart chakra’s qualities and made of two interlaced triangles. One triangle is pointing up and the other is pointing down. They are locked in a harmonious embrace. In Sanskrit, the two components are called “Aum (Om)” and the “Hrim (Hreem)”.
AUM (OM) represents the wholeness of the universe and the eternal vibratory sound of Brahman (the universal soul) that permeates it. AUM is the mantra of ascent and it causes our energy to rise upward into the infinite. It means yes and affirms and energizes whatever we say after it. This is why all mantras begin with AUM. AUM increases the fire, air and ether elements; it also gives us strength, protection, and grace. It connects us with the guidance power of our soul.

A” stands for creation
U” stands for preservation
M” indicates destruction or dissolution
The tree letters forming AUM indicate the three planes of existence (lokas) of this universe. Heaven (Svarga), Earth (Martya), and Netherworld (Patala).
AUM represents the complete union between breath, body, mind, and spirit.

HRIM governs over the cosmic magnetic energy and the power of the soul and causal body. It is the prime mantra of the Great Goddess and ruler of the worlds and holds all her creative and healing powers. HRIM awakens us at a soul or heart level connecting us to Divine forces of love and attraction. It is charming and alluring, yet purifying. Through it we can control the illusion power (maya) of our own minds. In Vedic terms, HRIM is a mantra of the Sun, particularly in terms of illumination. It increases our aspiration and receptivity to divine light, wisdom, and truth. It opens the lotus of the heart to the inner Sun of consciousness. It is a mantra of the region of heaven or the consciousness space in which all the worlds exist.
The two components “AUM” and “HRIM” symbolize mankind’s position between the earth and the sky. The downward triangle symbolizes Shakti, the sacred embodiment of femininity. Shakti is the concept or personification of divine feminine creative power and sometimes referred to as “The Great Divine Mother” in Hinduism.
The upward triangle symbolizes Shiva, representing the focused aspects of masculinity. Shiva is one of the principal deities of Hinduism. He is the Supreme Being within Shaivism, one of the major traditions within contemporary Hinduism.
The mystical union of the two triangles represents creation, occurring through the divine union of male and female. The two locked triangles are also known as “Shanmukha” (six-faced), representing the six faces of Shiva and Shakti’s progeny Kartikeya.

The twelve lotus petals of the heart chakra:
Each petal is inscribed with a Sanskrit syllable: Kam, Kham, Gam, Gham, Ngam, Cham, Chham, Jam, Jham, Nyam, Tam and Tham. Energy flows in and out of the petals, carried by the syllable sound, in twelve directions. Each petal represents a plexus where the channels of energy (Nadis) converge. The syllables symbolically represent the vital energy that comes from these points. These petals correspond to twelve mental states: Fraud, lustfulness, indecision, hope, anxiety, repentance, possessiveness, incompetence, discrimination, impartiality, arrogance, and defiance.

The deer or antelope:
The seed syllable of the heart chakra is “YAM” (sometimes translated as “Yang”). YAM carries the meaning of the air or wind element. The sound or “mantra” is connected to the control of the air and the breath.
The deer or antelope is the carrier of the seed sound. The animal symbolizes the heart and its qualities. It mirrors the type of energy or process we go through in the matters of the heart. The spirit of the deer or antelope is characterized by gentleness, grace, and innocence.

No comments:

Post a Comment